NBA New Year’s Eve 2021: Predictions, Betting odds, lines, point spreads and over/under

The NBA always has an action-packed slate on New Year’s Eve, giving hoops fans everywhere something to watch all day.

This year, there are 10 games and 20 teams on display, headlined by some marquee matchups like Suns-Celtics, Hawks-Cavaliers and Trail Blazers-Lakers.

Looking to sit back and gamble on all the action? We have you covered with the odds, lines and spreads for each contest below.

All odds are courtesy of FanDuel sportsbook.

NBA League Pass: Sign up to unlock live out-of-market games (7-day free trial)

NBA New Year’s Eve 2021 odds, lines, point spreads

Phoenix Suns at Boston Celtics

Game time: 1:00 p.m. ET | 10:00 a.m. PT

Suns ML: -112

Celtics ML: -108

Spread: Suns -4.5

Over/Under: 214.5

Prediction: The Celtics usually play up or down to the competition and with the Suns coming in town for their only visit, the Celtics should be motivated to prove they should be still feared in the East. The problem is this game falls on New Year Eve and Boston may be thinking more about getting out of TD Garden on time to celebrate than celebrating a win. Take the Suns here. 

Chicago Bulls at Indiana Pacers

Game time: 3:00 p.m. ET | 12:00 p.m. PT

Bulls ML: -110

Pacers ML: -110

Spread: Bulls -4.5

Over/Under: 222.0

Prediction: Anytime Chicago plays in Indiana it’s almost like a home game. They’ll be plenty of Bulls fans who will make the trip to Indy for this one and they’ll be geeked up to see their team win on the road. That energy should power the Bulls to an easy win here. Take the Bulls to cover the spread.

Dallas Mavericks at Sacramento Kings

Game time: 6:00 p.m. ET | 3:00 p.m. PT

Mavericks ML: -112

Kings ML: -108

Spread: Mavericks -1.0

Over/Under: 217.5

Prediction: Luka Doncic, Tim Hardaway Jr. and many other Mavs are still in the league’s health and safety protocols so Kristaps Porzingis will have to continue to carry the load for Dallas. These two teams played on Dec. 29 with the Kings stealing a one-point win. Take the Mavs here in the revenge game.   

Miami Heat at Houston Rockets

Game time: 7:00 p.m. ET | 4:00 p.m. PT

Heat ML: -115

Rockets ML: -105

Spread: Heat -3.5

Over/Under: 217.5

Prediction: The Heat have won four straight and were happy to get Jimmy Butler back in the lineup for the last two games. He’s listed as questionable on the injury report heading into the game against the Rockets with a right ankle injury. Without Butler, the offensive load will fall on Tyler Herro as the majority of the Heat’s go-to players are in the league’s health and safety protocols. Regardless if Butler plays or not take the Heat here to win and cover the spread.  

Atlanta Hawks at Cleveland Cavaliers

Game time: 7:30 p.m. ET | 4:30 p.m. PT

Hawks ML: -110

Cavaliers ML: -110

Spread: Cavs -1.0

Over/Under: 215.5

Prediction: The Hawks need a win in the worst way as they’re on a three-game losing streak. They’ll start 2022 on the road for four straight games on the west coast. The backend of the calendar year has been a struggle for the Hawks after they surprised under Nate McMillian in the postseason. They’d love to get a win to close out the year on a good note. The only problem is it won’t happen. Take the Cavs here. 

LA Clippers at Toronto Raptors

Game time: 7:30 p.m. ET | 4:30 p.m. PT

Clippers ML: -110

Raptors ML: -110

Spread: Raptors -7.0

Over/Under: 210.5

Prediction: Toronto got news on Thursday that they’ll be playing without fans in the building for the foreseeable future. The Raptors were vocal about how tough it was last year without their home crowd to back them up. Playing at SBA without a crowd on New Year’s Eve is going to be a tough spot to get up for. The Clippers are on a business trip and will get the win.

San Antonio Spurs at Memphis Grizzlies

Game time: 8:00 p.m. ET | 5:00 p.m. PT

Spurs ML: -110

Grizzlies ML: -110

Spread: Grizzlies -6.0

Over/Under: 225.5

Prediction: Buy Grizzlies stock. This team is surging and they’ll be a tough out on most nights. Grizz win big over San Antonio.

New York Knicks at Oklahoma City Thunder

Game time: 8:00 p.m. ET | 5:00 p.m. PT

Knicks ML: -110

Thunder ML: -110

Spread: Knicks -5.0

Over/Under: 205.5

Prediction: SGA is questionable with right ankle soreness and if he’s not playing the Thunder will struggle to score more than they usually do. Take the Knicks here and the under.

Minnesota Timberwolves at Utah Jazz

Game time: 9:00 p.m. ET | 6:00 p.m. PT

Timberwolves ML: -110

Jazz ML: -110

Spread: Jazz -11.5

Over/Under: 221.5

Prediction: Won’t waste time here, Jazz win this one but won’t cover the spread.

Portland Trail Blazers at Los Angeles Lakers

Game time: 10:30 p.m. ET | 7:30 p.m. PT

Trail Blazers ML: -110

Lakers ML: -110

Spread: Lakers -5.5

Over/Under: 226.5

Prediction: Damian Lillard loves playing in LA. I expect him to have a big night and close 2021 on the right note. Take the Blazers.